The Humbled Gardener

freakin-squash.jpg                                                                                                          I’ve been watching a volunteer squash of some sort taken hold in my garden.  I have been enjoying watching it sprawl all over the place with it’s big leaves.  The other day I was out with my pruning shears pruning a little of this and a little of that.  I thought hit me the maybe I will just tidy up the now quite large plant.  It’s already the middle of August I thought, so why not prune out all but the largest of stems to see how big it would get.  Snip.  I had cut the damm one that I wanted to keep.  After all these years of gardening  I’m still learning by my mistakes. 

~ by sandy on August 16, 2007.

4 Responses to “The Humbled Gardener”

  1. Sandy,
    I love what you’ve done here. Do you take your own pictures? I am a gardener in theory, not practice. This is a beautiful site.

  2. Sandy, I think I have fallen in love with a simple curl! Don’t know what it is about this picture but I love that curl! Your coneflower (?) from the last post is wonderfully crisp too.

  3. I’m sorry, but I laughed when I read what you’d done. I would do something like that 🙂 Volunteer plants are always interesting and I really like the curly, twisty thing on this one.

  4. If it makes you feel any better, Sandy, I cut the wrong vine last week on my watermelon. Sad, because they don’t produce that many good melons anyway. Oh well…

    I love this photo. You’re such a talented photographer!

Leave a Reply

 
