lone_heart3

Cercis ‘Forest Pansy’

Once again as soon as Christimas ends and January rolls around the primulas and violas hit the shelves at the grocery stores and nurseries.  The seed catalogues and garden magazines start showing up in my mailbox.  It’s hard not to get excited about the upcoming garden season that promises a riot of colors other than the brown,grey and white of winter.

They inspired me to go for a walkabout and do a mental checklist of the clean up that needs to be done.  The hellebores have started to poke their heads up and the crocus are starting to push their ways out of the ground.  I admired the lovely branching structure and bark of trees like my Stewardia and Acer Griseum.  I can’t wait until they start to leaf out.   One of my favorites is Cercis’ Forest Pansy’.  It is one of the last ones to leaf out but it is worth the wait.

I then came in the house excited about the prospect of getting a few hours in the garden this past weekend.  I checked out the weather report and ….it was calling for snow.  So much for that.

~ by sandy on January 27, 2009.

3 Responses to “”

  1. What a stunning photograph! I’d like to try a cercis in our garden, but I’m afraid it might be marginal here because of the wind. So I’ll enjoy yours and psyche myself up to try one sometime, preferably when a nursery friend has propagated some seedlings or cuttings and wants me to cold-test them.

  2. Stunning in its simplicity, Sandy! And what colour! Gorgeous! I’ve seen Forest Pansy mentioned often on the blogs. I must do some research on it. Lucky you to have those little signs of spring already 🙂

  3. Beautiful, and what great colours. With its heart shape, I would have been tempted to save it for a Feb 14 post.

Leave a Reply

 
