Wahhh…he died. My Gunnera that is.

dsc_9532 I knew it was alway a possibility.  A few cold snaps is all it would take.  He was getting harder and harder to protect as he grew into the monster he became.  I’m going to miss that larger than life spiny guy.  Those huge umbrella leaves that blocked out the neighbors two storey house in the summer.  It’s a sad day indeed in my garden.

~ by sandy on March 23, 2009.

4 Responses to “Wahhh…he died. My Gunnera that is.”

  1. I am so sorry! Oh, what a gorgeous plant! How old was it?

  2. Sorry for your loss. I lost 2 Japanese Maples myself this winter. I guess it’s the chance you take gardening in Canada, eh? I am in Southern Ontario, we had a much colder than normal winter also. All the best for the rest of the season.

  3. Oh, so sorry, Sandy! He was a magnificent speciman. We had a beautiful warm, sunny day. I worked this morning at the nursery and then in my garden this afternooon. Pure bliss! Hope you’re getting warmth too.
    I’ve worn long johns a lot lately too with all the cold winds we’ve been having. Such a nice change to not have the icy blast today.
    Hope you have a lovely weekend.

  4. What a gorgeous plant it was! I clicked the comments, hoping to read that he wasn’t actually dead (sometimes plants do that to us, happily), but sad for you not to read that. I adore my Gunnera, and am very glad he made it through this past winter, it was such a harsh one on the West Coast. I lost only spanish lavenders and a rosemary and a few other miscellaneous plants.

Leave a Reply

 
